The Thought That’s Changing My Life

By: Natalie Noel

I told my quick-beating heart to be still. The sudden swerve of the swing didn’t mean anything. But I was wrong. At the next instant both chains snapped. I couldn’t make sense of anything. I fell to the ground. It looked like wood was falling on top of me. My leg hurt. I was almost positive that I had broken it.

I screamed a couple times, hoping that my mom would hear me, but since I was in the backyard, and she was inside, she heard nothing.

I looked around me and noticed that nothing was on top of my throbbing leg. So what had happened? The swing lay next to me, but at the moment it was meaningless.

There had been a bar on top of the swings. But when I fell, it fell. Now it was lying across the ground. In the exact same place that my head would’ve been if the chains hadn’t broke!

I grabbed my cell phone that I had been holding onto. It was almost dead, but I still had enough time to call my mom. I quickly dialed her number.

“Hello? ” she answered.

“Mom, I’m hurt. I think I broke my leg.”

She said that she would be out soon to help me.

My mind went to volleyball. If my leg was broken, I would have to sit out of every game and practice….

My mom came outside and sat beside me. “Are you okay?”

“I don’t know….The swing broke.”

She tried to help me to my feet, but I began to feel sick to my stomach and everything began to black out. Mom could tell that it was happening by the way I seemed to freeze. She helped me lay back down on the ground and I managed to keep my consciousness.

“You stood up, so your leg isn’t broken,” she assumes.

“But it really hurts. I don’t think I can walk in.” My leg hurt, not because something had landed on top of it, but because one of the chains had hit it.

“Yes, you can. Come on.” She helped me up again and I walk in and lay down on the couch, hoping that my leg would feel better before that night’s activities.

Right off the bat I realized that it was a miracle. I knew that there was absolutely no logical reason that both of those chains broke at the same time. And if they hadn’t, right now you wouldn’t be hearing from me. I’d either be dead or paralyzed. God saved my life. There must be something really important that He wants me to do. I knew it. I was amazed at His power!

But that didn’t go on for long. I’ve been amazed about it ever since, but I didn’t do anything about it. It was only stories. I had fun telling all of my friends about it, because it was exciting! But soon that faded too.

A year had almost past. A lot had happened. I had actually become a born-again Christian. I told God that if He gave me the desire to serve Him, I would. He gave me the desire. I am now trying to add God into my books that I write and am trying to let people know that I’m not ashamed of my God! But God had another lesson to teach me from that accident that happened almost a year ago.

Everyone has emotional scars, whether you realize it or not. Some things just stick. Maybe it’s how a friend treated you or maybe it’s what your brother said to you before you left for summer camp. I was in West Virginia, which is far from my home, when an emotional scar was confronting me. It was staring me in the face, telling me that my life wouldn’t be the same because of it. That’s just what the devil wanted me to believe.

My eyes traveled to the scar from the chain on my leg and it hit me right in the face. Everything was going to be okay! I was going to be fine.

A few days later I sat at a restaurant with my grandma. We had been talking for a long time about school, friends, and anything that would pop into our minds, really.

“Grandma, I know this is off subject, but can I tell you something? I definitely want you to hear it.”

My grandma, who is one of my best friends, smiled. “Sure, go ahead.”

“Do you remember that accident I was in a year ago? You know, with the swing?”

She nodded. “Yes.”

I continued. “I was thinking the other night. And you know how almost everyone has some emotional scars?”

“Yes, I do.”

“Well I got a scar from that accident. And I was thinking. It’s always going to be there, but it never actually going to bother me again. It’s never going to hurt again or keep me from doing things. Can’t emotional scars kind of be like that? It happened, the evidence is there, but it doesn’t actually have to hurt anymore.”

She gets a smile on her face. “Natalie, that’s completely true! That’s really good thinking.”

“Thanks, but God put the idea into my head.”

And I really do believe that God put the idea into my head. I believe that that accident was supposed to affect my life. It was like God told me that I had a purpose, then told me that everything was going to be all right. But remember this. God heals physical wounds and God heals emotional wounds. Think of it this way. If you broke your arm and kept on slamming it against a tree, would it ever heal? It’s the same thing emotionally. If you are emotionally hurt and you keep on walking back into the situation, how can you heal?

So remember, whether God has showed you that He has saved your life before or not you are important to Him! He died on the cross for you!

And also remember that God heals physical, emotional, or spiritual wounds, no matter how big!

Leave a Reply

